The Return to Manila

I’m actually writing this entry on May 26, but I am scheduling this to be published the day before I leave for the Philippines.  I will be there for the next two months on an Exposure Trip.

I returned last in the fall of 2009.  It was right after Typhoons Ondoy and Pepeng, and the stories I picked up throughout Luzon broke my heart just a little more.  I’m fairly frightened of this trip, because I am fragile right now.  I have been pulled and wrung.  The last couple of weeks have been challenging in a way I don’t yet understand.  I feel a bit thrown off, and I am leaving the east coast with a lot of unsettled business.  I’m not in the best of places.

I want to be clear with myself: I am in transition.  I’ve done my best with the little I have, and that’s what matters most.  This is what I say when I wake up in the morning.

I feel a change in me, and I am fearful.

One thought on “The Return to Manila

  1. Pingback: The Return to Manila « the little I do know- Typhoon Pepeng

Leave a Reply

